Hello

Hello and welcome to ‘Cook, Clean, Make, Marry’.

I’m in the process of cooking my way through my grandmother Ngaire’s recipe book, and reading my way through her forty-plus years of journals. Ngaire started keeping a journal on the first of January 1948 and from then on barely missed a day. She wrote about what she’d baked, bottled and preserved; laundered, polished and scrubbed; stitched, darned and trimmed;  and, most intriguingly, which weddings she’d watched and who she thought her daughter, my mother, might marry! Ngaire lived on an orchard on the outskirts of Christchurch, so had no end of fruit to cook with or workers to feed. Prospective marriage material was generally found at church.

Even though I was raised in country Victoria and now live in Melbourne, New Zealand has always been a part of my life, and this will be my way of paying homage to the beautiful city of Christchurch.

I’m fairly sure that I’ll be doing more cooking and making than cleaning and marrying (I lean towards Speed rather than Spring Cleaning and my teenage daugher has no interest in a Glory Box) but I’ll share Ngaire’s insights and observations on all matters, not just confined to the domestic and romantic.  I hope you enjoy them!

M

3 thoughts on “Hello

  1. Oh this is so delightful. It is the sort of dare I say: shabby-chic post-war whimsy and slow-cooked version of life. Well done Michelle. i have enjoyed trawling through your recipes and comments so much! Kate Stedman

    Like

Leave a Reply

